INFORMATION RELEASE



Office of the Director

ARKANSAS STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT P.O. Box 2261 - Little Rock, Arkansas Telephone (501) 569-2227

Contact: Randy Ort/DavidNilles NR10-037 May 5, 2010

DAN FLOWERS INDUCTED INTO CONSTRUCTION HALL OF FAME

LITTLE ROCK (5-5) Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) Director Dan Flowers was inducted into the Arkansas Construction Hall of Fame during a dinner at the Aerospace Education Center in Little Rock on April 28th.

The Arkansas Construction Hall of Fame was established in 1999 by the Arkansas Chapter of Associated General Contractors of America to honor and recognize outstanding individuals in the construction industry. These individuals are held in esteem by their peers and have demonstrated their professionalism through active support of the industry and through civic and community involvement. There have been 32 individuals inducted into the Hall of Fame since its founding.

"It is certainly an honor to be inducted into the Arkansas Construction Hall of Fame," stated Flowers.

"What we do in the construction industry, whether we are engineers, managers, technicians or equipment operators is important. The buildings, utilities, airports, roads and other public and private facilities that we build make peoples' lives better."

"To be included in this group of construction industry professionals is certainly more than I could have ever thought possible," Flowers added.

Flowers began his career with the AHTD by working as a summer employee for four years in the Department's resident engineer office at Batesville.

After graduation from the University of Arkansas in 1969 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering, he completed the Department's engineering orientation program and was assigned as a planning engineer in the Planning & Research Division. He worked in eight other engineering and management positions within the Department prior to becoming Director of the Department in 1994.

Locally, Flowers served a four-year term on the Arkansas Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors and is a past president of the Board. He is a member of the University of Arkansas' Academy of Civil Engineering and was elected president of the Academy for 2010-2011 in April of this year. He received the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award from the University of Arkansas College of Engineering in 2005.

Nationally, Flowers is past president of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO). He received the George S. Bartlett Award which is presented by AASHTO, the Transportation Research Board and the American Road and Transportation Builders Association. The award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contribution to highway progress. Flowers is also current president of the Southeastern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. He is a registered professional engineer.

Flowers is from Batesville, where he graduated from Batesville High School. He is married to the former Sara Stobaugh of Hughes.

Other industry leaders inducted into the Hall of Fame on April 28th were the late Howard S. Eichenbaum, FAIA (Little Rock) of Erhart and Eichenbaum and continued today as Gaskin Hill Norcross; the late Harold J. Engstrom, PE (Little Rock) of AFCO Steel and later of Engstrom Engineers; the late Clark McClinton (Fayetteville) of McClinton Brothers Company and later of McClinton-Anchor Construction Company; and Mike Shupe, PE (Bentonville) of CEI Engineering Associates.

#####